top of page

Jesus the Messiah in the Four Cups of Passover

The four cups of Passover are an integral part of the Passover celebration. They stand for each of the four promises the Lord makes to His people in Exodus 6:6-7.

The Cup of Sanctification

“I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians.”

The Cup of Deliverance

“I will rescue you from their bondage.”

The Cup of Redemption

“I will redeem you with an outstretched arm.”

The Cup of Praise

“I will take you as My people.”

The ministry of Messiah speaks to each of these four promises:

Messiah Sanctifies Us

“And for their sakes I sanctify Myself, that they also may be sanctified by the truth” (John 17:19).

Messiah Delivers Us

“And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free” (John 8:32).

Messiah Redeems Us

“But when the fullness of the time had come, God sent forth His Son, born of a woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, that we might receive the adoption as sons” (Galatians 4:4-5).

Messiah is Our Joy

“These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full” (John 15:11).


bottom of page